Nothing To Do In York City

I’ve been away for too long. I miss blogging and sharing The Good in York City. I’ve been away from the blog, but I haven’t missed a beat in York City.

I am dumbfounded when I hear folks say “There’s nothing to do in the city.”, so to get my groove back, I decided to write about the things I’ve been doing in  York City lately.

I’ve been working at two agencies located in York City. Yorktowne Psychological and Addiction Services and Community Progress Council provide services to York City and County residents. Both agencies serve at risk adults, youth and families. I count it as a privilege to work at both of these agencies to provide mental health and wellness services. It’s a treat for me that the agencies are located just blocks from each other and that I can walk to Central MarketMartin Memorial Library and my other favorite downtown locations like The Green Bean Roasting Company.

Here’s a little of what I’ve been doing when I’m not at work:

I’ve been picking pretty posies at Linclonway Flower Shop in Central Market, attending Cap Live Concerts and checking out the sounds of Indian Summer Jars at Bistro 19. On the First Friday of every month, I take in live music at Pete & Lindsey’s First Friday After Party.

I gave high fives to two friends who recently moved to York City from the suburbs. I helped with painting and jazzing up the transformer box outside of White Rose Bar & Grill and toured the old Fraternal Order of Eagles building slated to become an Arts Center. I also enjoyed a tour of Salvaging Creativity, the business responsible for creating the functional art you see on Beaver Street.

I baked cookie invitations for a YorIT event, and participated in the York County United Way Day of Action. I rubbed elbows with creative types at the inaugural Artists Pot Luck at York Arts. I took an eight-week long writing class, also hosted by York Arts. I volunteered at the annual “Swing Into Literacy” Gala and hung out at York City’s Bike Night afterward.

I watched outstanding individuals, businesses and organizations receive recognition at the Downtown First Awards. I took part in some raucous, costumed Halloween fun, complete with an after-dark parade down Market Street by the light of Chinese lanterns. I tapped my feet at the Second Annual Downtown Hoedown hosted by Farm & Natural Lands Trust.

I volunteered as a guide for the annual York College of PA in the City tour and supported a back yard fundraiser for  Susan G. Komen For the Cure. I nommed lots of tasty treats from the new Student-Run Bake Shoppe at Central Market and sampled chili prepared by Beaver Street merchants on First Friday.  I handed out samples of hot cider to Beaver Street visitors and did some old-fashioned holiday shopping there.

I went ice-skating with a crew of friends at the York City Ice Arena, and most recently had the chance to show our friend Marion from France around our great city.

I did all of this in York City.

Nothing to do in the city…

I’m looking forward to spending more time here on the blog, it’s good for my soul to capture my good times in York City through writing. Look for entries on one creative and busy Chief of Staff and a program that takes city kids to rolling hills for lessons in sport and self-discipline.

4 Responses to “Nothing To Do In York City”

  1. Blanda Says:

    Thanks for the shout out! You really are a good person!!!

  2. Gayle Lanphier RD Says:

    We love you Stacey! Glad you are back :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

